Today while I was loading up a batch of clothes, dishes and toys to take to Goodwill, the phone rings.

“Mom, did you already buy your tickets for opening night to the play?”

“No, I tried to… online but the site told me that online tickets go on sale Monday the 30th.”

“Well you better go see if you can buy some at the box office because Lucille just came through the drive-thru at Starbucks and said Sunday is SOLD OUT. I am working until eleven and can’t go see what is going on.”

“Eeeeeka, how did this happen? I’m going right now…bye”

So I jumped in the car and headed to the theater to find that it was closed until 7:30 p.m. (30 minutes before curtain of the current play.) Total panic sets in. PLeasE ….PLeasE….PLeasE….I say out loud in the empty car as I think of what might possibly be the solution if all of the tickets for opening night are sold out like the Sunday show. Time passes at a snail’s pace until finally…7:25. Chloe and I hop in the car and are soon standing outside the box office window. We tell the very kind lady behind the glass our concerns and I mention that I am this nervous because I’ve heard that the Sunday matinee is already sold out and tickets have only been issued to members and not even to the public yet. I tell her that we usually get a card to send in our orders but for some reason we did not get one this time. I tell her that I am Pinocchio’s mother and this is Pinochio’s little sister and we really need her help. She is cool as a cucumber and rescues/ helps us because I will be in school when tickets go on sale Monday and I won’t be able to order.

Relief washes over us as we climb back in the car, tickets in hand (great seats):). I can even see the other performances if I am an usher, thanks kind theater lady that senses desperation. Breathe in…breathe out. I call Caity and she tells me that she had no clue what to do if we didn’t get to see it. She had already mentioned to the other baristas that I was overboard. We have all been counting the days at our house until the big night. My husband thinks I am nuts and says he wasn’t worried but I was. I feel so much better than I did a few hours ago. I promise to post a picture after the performance.

