Talked to my boy today. He sounded so good, not a hint of the homesick voice that I sometimes hear. All the mamas reading this, you know what I am talking about. Today he told me about his new job in the city. We talked for about 40 minutes and he told me how much he loved it. He is walking dogs in NYC and being paid well to do so. I realize pay is relative but it is more than I have been paid at times during my teaching career  (I won’t even go there). He has a college degree in photojournalism but the current economy is not conducive to finding a job in a photojournalism field currently, at lest not one that will pay bills and expenses. When I first heard that he had an interview for this job, I am not going to lie, I was a little mystified. But after today and talking to him I feel so much better because….he has put his own little spin on this job and has noticed all of the little things  about walking dogs that I guess I have never even thought of. He is so glad not to be behind a desk and so glad to be out and about for four hours a day that I think that God must have had this planned for the boy all along. There are crazy life lessons I can already see coming down the road. When I look at things from another perspective it makes all the difference. You know I should have learned this lesson before now, but better late than never. All thing considered, hip hip hooray for dogs of all size, shape, temperament, and energy level in NYC!

